William Burn 1833. Single storey, picturesque gabled
cottage ornee. Stugged squared and snecked red
sandstone with droved borders to chamfered arrises and
dressings; base course. Windows mainly bipartite with
S ELEVATION: asymmetrical 3-bay. Advanced gabled porch
at centre with curved corners to lintel of wide doorway;
armorial panel in apex; 2-leaf door. Gabled bay to left
with 4-light stone roof canted window. Gable-headed
bipartite window in projecting panel to outer right.
Recessed, lower eaved projection to E, with bipartite to S
Plate glass sash and case windows with some modern
glazing inserted. Large grey slates. Decoratively coped
barley sugar stacks. Distinctive scrolled barge boarding
with kingposts and finials added 1839 to all gables.
BOUNDARY WALLS AND RAILINGS: rubble retaining walls with
semi-circular coping, ashlar coped by gate with
Statement of Special Interest
Built originally as School House. Similar barge boarding
used by David Bryce on Bowerhouse Lodge, Spott, and on East
Lodge to Archerfield, Dirleton. Lady Eleanor (nee Maitland,
d.1869) was the wife of James Balfour who bought the
estate in 1817. Redcliff, to N, was built just prior to the
cottage, and is listed separately; both are erected on site
of former village of Whittingehame (see RHP.2516 of 1793).