Possibly John Sanders of London (architect). Circa 1800 with
additions, John Paterson circa 1814, and 1836. Substantially
recast Reginald Fairlie 1939. 2 storey, rambling country
house. All now harled.
Entrance front: U-Plan court, 5-bay inner, N facing
elevation with off-centre left door (originally mirrored
at right) part of Duchess Jane's original picturesque
cottage circa 1800. Wings belong partly to that period,
extended circa 1814, additional wing to E (originally
single storey) circa 1836.
Garden front: 5-bay elevation with bowed return end bays
(latter originally single storey). 3 tall tripartite
windows, centre window now with glazed doors, Regency
verandah, arched with lattice decoration and tent roof;
3 1st floor windows with 6-pane sashes divided by narrow
dressing room (now bathroom) windows; 3 windows in each
storey to bows with tall 6-pane sashes.
Addition made to SE of E wing in 1939. In-filling of 1836
in the entrance court yard removed.
All windows sash and case with a variety of glazing
patterns, some blind windows on N elevations of wings.
Coped stacks, slate roof.