Mr Milne, architect, dated 1829 and possibly incorporating late 16th century cellar (see Notes); altered 1926 and 1976. Interesting, large 2-storey, house in commanding position overlooking River Tay. Unusual cottage orné references including canted bays with triple gablets, timber-transomed and -mullioned gothic windows, deep eaves overhang and retaining some fine interior detail. Whitewashed harl with contrasting painted droved ashlar margins and cills.
FURTHER DESCRIPTION: principal 5-bay S elevation with gothic-detailed glazing, bipartite french windows with 4-part top lights at ground and large transomed bipartites at 1st floor; bays 2 and 4 canted, bay 5 set-back. Gabled, asymmetrical former entrance elevation to E with '1829' and '1976' datestones, former door at left blocked, 1st floor windows breaking eaves into dormerheads.
Decoratively-astragalled, timber casement windows, and 4-, 12-pane and plate glass glazing patterns to timber sash and case windows. Graded grey slates. Polygonal and square ridge stacks with cans. Deeply overhanging eaves with plain bargeboarding.
INTERIOR: fine decorative scheme retained in some principal rooms including decorative plasterwork, timber panelling, mahogany doors and timber fire surrounds. 1926 renovations include sitting room panelling, drawing room canted bay and ceiling plasterwork (latter renovated 1976).
WALLED GARDEN: large walled garden covering 1 Scots acre. Flat-coped, stepped red brick with boarded timber doors to segmental-arched brick-voussoired openings. Potting shed to outer W elevation with WWII ammunition dump attached at N.
Statement of Special Interest
Taymount House is an unusual design with an uncommon gothic glazing pattern, and it retains remnants of early fabric and some fine interior detail. It is sited on high ground overlooking rapids on the River Tay and enjoys spectacular views to the south. Groome says 'Just below Taymount House, it forms a picturesque fall, the Linn of Campsie' (Vol IV, p397). Set within extensive grounds, the original building dates from circa 1580, and the cellar is thought to be part of that early structure. The estate was taken over by the Lindsay family in 1725, and remains in the same family today (2007). The earlier 19th century work included a rear courtyard (removed 1976) as well as the south front with its unusual canted bays with triple gablets. There are ancillary buildings sited immediately to the north and west and the walled garden lies to the east. The New Statistical Account reports that larch plantations within the parish of Kinclaven had suffered from an 'inexplicable' disease, continuing 'On the Taymount estate, twenty acres have recently been cut down in a state of entire decay.'
The picturesque cottage orné style, utilized in the artful rusticity of the southern elevation gabletted windowheads and elaborately astragalled windows (to S and W), was more commonly found in smaller buildings However, larger scale designs were found in Papworth's Designs for Rural Residences published in 1818. It is not yet known if the architect James Milne of Edinburgh was the Milne responsible for this building. He was working at the same time as Mr Milne, the architect, but known records do not at present (2007) list Taymount as one of his commissions.
List description revised 2007.